Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): April  17, 2019



The Sherwin-Williams Company

(Exact Name of Registrant as Specified in Charter)




Ohio   1-04851   34-0526850

(State or Other Jurisdiction

of Incorporation)



File Number)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)



101 West Prospect Avenue

Cleveland, Ohio


(Address of Principal

Executive Offices)

  (Zip Code)

(216) 566-2000

(Registrant’s telephone number, including area code)


(Former name or former address, if changed since last report)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:



Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)



Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)



Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))



Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is an emerging growth company as defined in Rule 405 of the Securities Act of 1933 (§230.405 of this chapter) or Rule 12b-2 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (§240.12b-2 of this chapter).

Emerging growth company  ☐

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act.  ☐




Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

The final voting results for the proposals submitted for a vote of shareholders at the Annual Meeting of Shareholders of The Sherwin-Williams Company (“Sherwin-Williams”) held on April 17, 2019 are set forth below.

Proposal 1. The shareholders elected the following 12 nominees as directors of Sherwin-Williams to serve until the next Annual Meeting of Shareholders and until their successors are elected. The voting results for the 12 nominees are as follows:



   For    Against    Abstentions    Broker Non-Votes

Kerrii B. Anderson

   74,970,270    670,163    264,812    7,829,100

Arthur F. Anton

   74,042,188    1,674,403    188,654    7,829,100

Jeff M. Fettig

   70,843,483    4,787,653    274,109    7,829,100

David F. Hodnik

   74,506,096    1,231,565    167,584    7,829,100

Richard J. Kramer

   74,972,635    759,512    173,098    7,829,100

Susan J. Kropf

   74,444,578    1,286,487    174,180    7,829,100

John G. Morikis

   73,857,034    1,650,855    397,356    7,829,100

Christine A. Poon

   74,016,930    1,310,496    577,819    7,829,100

John M. Stropki

   75,344,463    362,664    198,118    7,829,100

Michael H. Thaman

   75,402,005    307,258    195,982    7,829,100

Matthew Thornton III

   74,992,584    752,154    160,507    7,829,100

Steven H. Wunning

   75,144,420    559,845    200,980    7,829,100

Proposal 2. The shareholders approved, on an advisory basis, the compensation of the named executives. The voting results are as follows:








Broker Non-Votes

73,198,020   2,330,570   376,655   7,829,100

Proposal 3. The shareholders approved the ratification of the appointment of Ernst & Young LLP as Sherwin-Williams’ independent registered public accounting firm for 2019. The voting results are as follows:








Broker Non-Votes

80,316,605   3,240,839   176,158   743




Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly caused this Report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


April 22, 2019     By:   /s/ Mary L. Garceau
      Mary L. Garceau
      Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary